Login

Sign Up

After creating an account, you'll be able to track your payment status, track the confirmation and you can also rate the tour after you finished the tour.
Username*
Password*
Confirm Password*
First Name*
Last Name*
Email*
Phone*
Country*
* Creating an account means you're okay with our Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.

Déjà membre?

Login

Login

Sign Up

After creating an account, you'll be able to track your payment status, track the confirmation and you can also rate the tour after you finished the tour.
Username*
Password*
Confirm Password*
First Name*
Last Name*
Email*
Phone*
Country*
* Creating an account means you're okay with our Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.

Déjà membre?

Login

Pourquoi choisir une excursion d’île en île contre la croisière?

Lors de l’organisation de votre voyage aux Galapagos, vous devrez choisir entre une croisière ou un island hopping.

Bien que les croisières soient toujours la plus populaire façon de découvrir les iles, le island hopping se développe pour plusieurs raisons que nous allons détailler ci-dessous:

FLEXIBILITE:
Le premier avantage du island hopping est la flexibilité – seulement un seul de nos tours (The Highlight) s’effectue à partir d’un départ fixe, mais si vous ne pouvez rejoindre ce tour, de nombreuses options s’offrent à vous. Si vous avez déjà réservé vos vols car vous avez trouvé le meilleur prix existant, nous adapterons votre tour en fonction de votre aéroport d’arrivée et de départ.

Nous adaptons également votre itinéraire si vous avez des enfants, si vous souhaitez plus de jours libres, passer plus ou moins de temps sur une île en particulier, il suffit de nous dire ce que vous souhaitez! Nous vous donnerons les meilleurs conseils en fonction de vos aspirations: randonnée, snorkeling, observation des oiseaux, science… Alors que lors d’une croisière, vous ne disposerez que du choix du bateau, lors de votre island hopping tour, nous pouvons réserver pour vous de sympatiques et économiques hôtels, ou des hôtels supérieurs, ce qui vous permet de vous en tenir à votre budget tout en profitant également d’extras (particulièrement sur l’île d’Isabela où séjourner dans l’un des hôtels sur la plage peut être un « petit » extra » à votre voyage!).

MAL DES TRANSPORTS:
Si vous êtes sujet au mal des transport en mer ou en bus, l’idée de passer 5 à 7 nuits en croisière peut ne pas vous plaire. Les Galapagos étant un archipel, vous devrez prendre un bateau pour les tours ou passer d’une île à l’autre mais au moins vous dormirez sur terre ! Nous essayons également de toujours réduire les transferts en bateau en réservant des vols inter-îles, optimisant ainsi le temps de transports autant que possible/nécessaire (particulièrement lors de voyages avec les enfants qui souffrent plus que les adultes du mal des transports).

TEMPS LIBRE:
Que faites vous lors de votre temps libre en croisière? Bien sûr certaines personnes apprécient la vie quotidienne à bord, mais en optant pour un island hopping tour, vous avez le temps de vous promener au port et au front de mer en soirée, de profiter de la vie nocturne – boire une bière au Bar de Beto à Isabela, ou à la plage Mann au coucher de soleil à San Cristobal, observer les jeunes requins à la jetée de Puerto Ayora, des moments privilégiés en extra lors des belles excursions dont vous profiterez en journée. Vou pourrez également goûter différents types de cuisine dans des restaurants locaux et en voir plus de la vie quotidienne aux Galapagos.

FAUNE ET FLORE:
Et bien oui, vous observerez une multitude d’animaux sauvages! Vous pourrez visiter de beaux lieux tels que Seymour, Bartolomé et Española, et découvrir les incroyables spots de snorkeling que sont Kicker Rock ainsi que Los Tuneles à Isabela qui ne peuvent être atteints en bateau de croisière! Récemment, le Parc National a autorisé les pêcheurs à emmener les touristes à ces spots, en petits groupes.

FAIRE TRAVAILLER LES ENTREPRISES LOCALES:
Vous serez surpris d’apprendre que la majeure partie des bateaux de croisière sont en fait « loués » par les compagnies du continent ou même de pays étrangers. Alors que la loi locale impose que la moitié d’une société soit détenue par un résident permanent des îles, peu d’entre eux peuvent investir dans un bateau de croisière et louent donc leur licence. Bien que quelques marins et capitaines soient des îles, en optant pour un island hopping tour, vous mangez et dormez sur les îles et votre argent dépensé profite à l’économie locale et directement aux habitants des îles. La plupart des excursions à la journée sont proposées par des anciens pêcheursà qui il a été autorisé de travailler dans le cadre du tourisme.

ECOLOGIE:
Nous entendons souvent dire qu’une croisière serait plus écologique que de rester sur terre, argumentant ainsi:
“En croisière, vous ne produisez pas autant de déchets qu’en séjournant sur une île”: Alors que tous les bateaux de croisière déposent leurs déchets sur les îles habitées qui doivent prendre en main leur recyclage au même titre que le recyclage habituel.
“En bateau de croisière, vous n’encouragez pas l’accroissement de la population sur les îles, alors que cette dernière grandit trop vite”: Ainsi chaque bateau de croisière amène du personnel et des touristes et tout ceci génère des déchets qui finissent dans la réserve marine ou sur les îles habitées. Aucun hôtel des Galapagos ne possède la capacité des 4-5 plus grands navires de croisière abritant 90 personnes ainsi que le personnel de bord. La capacité des hôtels est limitée à 35 chambres et presque aucun hôtel ne possède cette capacité.  Vous ne trouverez pas de « resorts » ou de « all inclusive » ici. Et seulement 3% de la surface totale des îles peut être peuplée, le reste étant fermé à tout sorte d’infrastructures.

  Alors que vous ne trouverez peut être pas que les habitants des Galapos soient les plus écologiques qui soient ‘des progrès restent à faire en terme de recyclage, réutilisation etc), de plus en plus de locaux s’impliquent dans des projets de recyclage, de nettoyage côtier, le tri des déchets organiques, … afin de ne pas dépendre du continent. Toute une part de vie réelle aux Galapagos que l’on ne peut découvrir lors d’une croisière !

Si vous hésitez toujours, pourquoi ne pas nous envoyer un email et nous serons ravis de répondre à vos questions et discuter de l’itinéraire parfaitement adapté à vos aspirations étant donné qu’un voyage aux Galapagos est un voyage que l’on ne fait qu’une fois dans vie!

Login

Sign Up

After creating an account, you'll be able to track your payment status, track the confirmation and you can also rate the tour after you finished the tour.
Username*
Password*
Confirm Password*
First Name*
Last Name*
Email*
Phone*
Country*
* Creating an account means you're okay with our Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.

Already a member?

Login

Login

Sign Up

After creating an account, you'll be able to track your payment status, track the confirmation and you can also rate the tour after you finished the tour.
Username*
Password*
Confirm Password*
First Name*
Last Name*
Email*
Phone*
Country*
* Creating an account means you're okay with our Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.

Already a member?

Login

why choose island hopping?

When planning a trip to Galapagos, you get soon confronted to the choice of island hopping/vs cruises.
Though cruises are still the most popular way to get to know the islands, island hopping is gaining space for several reasons which we will details below:

FLEXIBILITY:
The first advantage of going for an island hopping is flexibility- just one of our tour (The Highlight) has a fixed departure, but if you can’t join it, you have plenty of other options. If you have already taken your flights because you found the best deal ever, we will adapt to the airport you fly to /leave from.
We also adapt the itinerary if you have kids, if you want to have more free days, spend more or less time on a specific island, just let us know! We also will give you the best tips according to what you want to focus on: walking, snorkeling, birding, science. Also when on a cruise you have to choose one only category of boat meanwhile if you would like to, we can book you in nice but economics hotels on some islands and on other islands, in superior hotels so you stick to your budget but have a bit of an extra too (especially on Isabela island where staying in one of the beach front hotels can add “this little extra thing” to your trip!)

MOTION SICKNESS:
If you are the kind of person feeling sick already on a car or train, you may not like the idea to spend 5 to 7 nights cruising the ocean. As Galapagos is an archipelago you do need to take boats for day tours or transfers between islands, but at least you sleep on land! We also always try reduce the boat transportation using the inter-islands planes to optimize the transport time whenever possible/necessary (especially when traveling with kids that suffer more than adults about motion sickness).

FREE TIME:
What do you do for your free time when on a cruise boat? Of course some people really like the feeling of cruising every day, but when opting for an island hopping tour you have time to walk down the port and waterfront in the evening, enjoy a bit of the night time – having a beer at Bar de Beto on Isabela or at Mann beach at sunset on San Cristobal, watching the juvenile sharks at the pier or Puerto Ayora, will give you special extra moments besides from the great excursions you will have in day time. You can also experience different types of cuisine in the local restaurants, and see more of the “real life” of Galapagos.

WILDLIFE:
Well yes you will see plenty of wildlife island hopping! You can visit great places such as Seymour, Bartolomé and Española, and go to amazing snorkeling spots such as the Kicker Rock and even Los Tuneles on Isabela where you cannot go on a cruise boat! Recently the National Park authorized fishermen to take tourists to spots where only them could go, and always in small groups.

MAKE LOCAL BUSINESSES WORK:
You would be surprised to know that most of the cruise boats are actually “rented” to companies on the mainland or even in foreign countries. While the local law makes It mandatory that half of the company is owned by a permanent resident of the islands, few of them can invest in a cruise boat, so they rent their license. Though some sailors and captains are from the islands, when opting for an island hopping tour you eat and sleep on the islands and your money profits to the people actually living here and the money circulates in the local economy. Most of the day tours excursions are made by former fishermen given the right to do tourism for example.

ECOLOGY:
We heard people saying that a cruise would be more ecologic than staying on land with the following arguments:
“On a cruise you do not generate trash like if you live on an island”: well all the cruise boats take their trash to the poblated islands who have to handle recycling just like the regular trash.
“on a cruise boat you do not incentivate the poblation of the islands, and island poblation is growing too fast”: so each cruise boat bring staff and tourist and all these generate trash that in the end finishes in the marine reserve or on the poblated islands. No hotel in Galapagos has the capacity that have the 4-5 biggest cruise ships of 90 people + staff. Hotel capacity is limited to 35 rooms but almost not one hotel as this capacity. No “resorts” or “all inclusive” to be found here.
And only 3% of the total surface of the islands can be poblated, the rest is closed to any form of human settlement.
While you will not find that Galapagos people are the most ecological (still progress need to be made in recycling, reusing etc), or not as you may think it should be, more and more local people are involved in recycling projects, coastal cleaning, micro plastic recollection and growing organic food to not be so dependant from the mainland. All of this is part of the reality of the islands which certainly you could not see while on boat!

So if you still hesitate, why don’t you send us an email and we will be glad to reply your questions and think about the perfect itinerary for you, as indeed, Galapagos is a once in a lifetime trip!